Cry Of A Mother

It was nearly twilight…

I was sitting quietly…

Sipping my coffee, a novel in hand…

No concern with the world, apart; but then…

A news-reader’s voice snapped, sharp..

Terror had struck yet again…

People had died, all in vain…

I watched quietly as horror engulfed those there

And anger welled up inside everyone who was elsewhere…

Yet again families stood devastated, helpless and bewildered under the moon…

Lamenting the loss of those they had once lovingly and dearly known…

A mother stood not far from the site…

In a dirty, patched saree, plain white…

Her teary eyes questioned everyone…

“Where is my son…

Tell me, where is my son”…

No one in the vicinity dared to reply..

That her son had actually died…

She howled in the darkening, purple night…

Give me my son or I shall fight…

She could see through the false promises the leaders made…

All had just been said, nothing done; she felt betrayed…

She fell to the floor; her grief too great to bear…

Compressing her from each side; as the cold wind blew up her hair…

Despite her grim plight…

She gathered up all her courage, all her might…

She rose again, a resolution in her mind…

“I will change the world, I will change the world”, she cried…

She cried and challenged the darkest night…

To her surprize, she saw dawn was already here, she smiled…

She cried and then again, she smiled…

     By: Snigdha Srivastava

(In memory of those who have lost their lives in the barbaric terrorist attacks in India and a homage and salute to those who are fighting against terrorism with all the spirit in the world; God bless them all)

32 thoughts on “Cry Of A Mother

      • perhaps its an irony abt promising nd welwishng of politicians or powerful people to the victims… perhaps i thnk they dnt hv others words to promise,cz thy knw thy r responsible fr ths in direct or indirect way…nd wht abt ths morosed mother who wnts nothng but her child..well she knws no miracle cn return her child frm such hineous acts..nd wht she left is just tears nd a little abomination fr those killers of humanity,cz those powerful killers nt jst killng people,thy r killing our morals,our humanity nd perhaps our patience.

  1. It is really a beautiful poem, full of emotions and sentiments, very well written. A heart broken mother vividly picturised. I never knew that you had sucha a good writing skill. Keep it up.

  2. NO WORDS CAN EXPRESS THE AMOUNT OF FEELING AND PAIN THAT THIS POETRY LEAVES UNTO OUR MINDS ….
    I REALLY NEVER KNEW THAT , BESIDES BEING A GOOD SINGER U COULD CREAT SUCH A LOVELY PIECE OF POETRY !!!!!
    THIS IS SIMPLY FANTASTIC .

  3. a very sentimental one….actually we all needed this…in our busy schedules we dnt even have tym to think abt this…..this is a worthy dedication

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an e-mail if interested. Regards!

  5. Hi Snigdha ..I am Anil K Upadhyaya Ex Addl Gm & Head HRD BHEL HWR currently HOD MBA…Yr dad gave me yr pen address.. so I am here . I have been writing for the last 50 Yrs..In English , Hindi and Urdu Shayari ( Not the script,but in Devnagri script) Yr pen I must say ,U r truly talented…Maa Kripa barse. . Do follow me on TWITTER. I have strtd following.U. Happy u r a regular blogger. I do blog but not so regularly. I am regular on FB & twitter & Linked in.. Bless u ever. Do write a poem on ” DEW-THE TEARS OF STARS”..Tc…anilku

Leave a Reply

